Hablamos Español | 我们说中文/ 我們說中文 | हिंदी बोलते हैं
Free Consultations
man hiding gun in back of his jeans

Can I Carry A Concealed Weapon in Wisconsin?

As a current or prospective gun owner, it is essential to understand Wisconsin gun laws to avoid breaking them. What may seem like a small mistake can bring large consequences and potential felony charges. Our Milwaukee weapons crimes attorneys at Ahmad & Associates explain what you should know about concealed carrying.

WHAT IS CONSIDERED CONCEALED?

Carrying a concealed weapon is exactly what it sounds like — you are in the possession of a loaded weapon that is “concealed” and not visible when carried on your body or in your belongings, such as a purse or backpack. While Wisconsin is an open carry state, meaning that those who can legally own a gun are permitted to carry their loaded weapon visibly, not everyone can carry a concealed weapon.

WHO CAN CARRY A CONCEALED WEAPON?

To be able to carry a concealed weapon, you must be in one of the following categories:

Individuals Holding a Concealed Carry License from Wisconsin

If you are not a law enforcement officer, you will need to apply for a concealed carry license to be able to carry a concealed weapon legally. To be eligible to apply for a concealed carry license, you must:

  • Be at least 21 years old,
  • Be a resident of Wisconsin or an active duty military member stationed in Wisconsin,
  • Not be prohibited from owning a firearm under state or federal laws,
  • Not have a court order prohibiting ownership or possession of a dangerous weapon as a condition of bail or release during a criminal case,
  • Have taken and provided evidence of a required firearms course, including the Department of Natural Resources hunter education program or another program by an organization that certifies instructors for firearms training courses.

If you are pursuing a concealed carry license and have submitted your application, you must wait until you receive confirmation of license awarding before you begin to carry a concealed weapon. Carrying a concealed weapon while waiting on a license does violate Wisconsin’s concealed carry laws.

Individuals Holding a Concealed Carry License From a Reciprocal State

If you live out of state but are visiting Wisconsin and have a concealed carry permit from another state, you may be able to carry a concealed weapon in Wisconsin. Certain states have license reciprocity with Wisconsin, including Wisconsin’s neighboring states of Minnesota, Michigan, Iowa, Indiana, and Illinois. Other states may have limitations or restrictions regarding license reciprocity, including Florida, Ohio, West Virginia, and South Dakota.

CONCEALED CARRY VIOLATIONS

If you are arrested for carrying a concealed weapon without a valid permit, you may face a class A misdemeanor and consequences of a jail sentence of up to 9 months and up to a $10,000 fine. You also may face a fine of up to $500 and/or a jail sentence of up to 30 days if you are arrested for carrying a concealed weapon in a prohibited location, such as a school, a location where alcoholic beverages are sold, or a police station.

MILWAUKEE WEAPONS CRIMES ATTORNEYS

Our weapons crimes attorneys understand that you may wish to carry a concealed weapon on your person for your safety. If you are arrested for carrying a concealed weapon or a related crime, we can help you tell your side of the story and fight your charges.

Were you charged with a weapons crime? Call us today at (414) 928-7771 to schedule a free consultation with our weapons crimes attorney and learn more about how we can fight your charges.

Categories